Philadelphia Eats: Famous 4th St Delicatessen

✣ Top pick ✣

I love Food Network, and Alton Brown is one of my favourite show host.  I had to come here and try their famous chicken soup.  No, actually I would love to try everything on the menu, but I only have one stomach and I had no eating partner with me on this trip.  Prices may look steep at first, but every dish can easily feed 2-3 people, or it can translate to leftover for the next 2-3 meals.  It’s good solid homemade Jewish food.  Come here with a good appetite, and/or with a few people to share the food.  Don’t forget they will give you a cookie after you finish your meal.

My ratings: ❤❤❤❤❤
Price range: $-$$

Famous chicken soup
Serves 2-3.  With Matzo ball, kreplach, noodles, rice, kasha
The lady warned me it’s big before I placed my order (I was prepared for the size).  She even gave me two tupperware before the soup arrived.  It’s a big pot of hearty chicken soup, with a giant matzoh ball in it.  You can probably serve 4-5 people.  The soup was just homemade goodness, plus it was not overly salty.  I do want to say that their kreplach was totally out of this world! However I’m not too happy with their matzoh ball, it’s just not light and fluffy enough.  I thought it was a bit coarse and grainy.
(P.S. I actually did finish the whole pot.  I also need to point out I was famished when I arrived because I skipped meals the night before)

Click here to see my other reviews on the local dining scene.

Famous 4th Street Delicatessen on Urbanspoon

Famous 4th St Delicatessen
700 South 4th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19147-3102, USA
+1 215-922-3274
famous4thstreetdelicatessen.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

