March ’11: 蛋白蛋糕

This is a technique cake.  No chemical leavening agent and any oil/butter are included.  The cake remains soft and airy by the beaten egg white.  I was craving for cake the other day, but I did not want butter cake, I wanted the light foam cake type (i.e. angel food cake, sponge cake).  Finally a cake I baked that I didn’t give away to my friends/housemates😛

Adapted from http://www.leisure-cat.com/frm_1408.htm

材料:

蛋白……………………10隻 [改用8隻]
糖………………………150克 [改用80克]
低筋麵粉………………120克 [改用whole wheat pastry flour]
檸檬汁…………………適量

做法:

將蛋白打發,糖分3次加入白蛋中,打至企身。

加入已篩麵粉拌勻,再加入檸檬汁。

用160度焗50分鐘。

Ingredients are very simple.

Egg whites should be shiny and glistening and hold stiff peaks.  The beating of the egg whites is crucial to the success of the cake.

It’s very light and airy by only using egg white as the sole leavening agent.  Caramelized beautifully and maybe part of the golden colour came from the whole wheat pastry flour.  I can only assume it will be pure white on the inside should I use plain flour.  I might try to reduce the sugar by another 20g next time, just hope it won’t mess up with the cake (sugar is needed to support and stabilize the whipped egg whites).

Leave a Reply

