Chain Eats: Five Guys Hamburgers

The burgers were good (not great).  I think comparatively this is one of the better fast food burgers.  It’s not gourmet so don’t expect gourmet restaurant standards.  I hope this is a somewhat fair comparison because Five Guys is in fact a lot pricier than a typical fast food chain.

The burgers are made-to-order, and they fully display the cooking in front of you.  The meat is fresh and juicy and you can customize your burger down to the toppings.  However I didn’t like the buns.  They were so flimsy and just a very bad quality, and I do care about the bun part and will definitely pick on it.  No matter how good the inside is, if the exterior part of the burger flops out then I won’t like it.  I really tried hard to like it😦 I don’t know if it’s just because this is the Kingston store so it doesn’t live up to the standard of its original US chain, or it’s just like this in all their stores (the photos from burgers in the States seems to me are the exact same flimsy buns).

On the other hand they have very nice fries.  The fries are freshly made and fried in peanut oil.  The servings are huge.  The server carefully measures out the fries.  You can choose between regular fries or Cajun seasoned fries.  The free peanuts available are also a fun and nice touch.

One slight issue I had with the fries/potatoes was they put up a sign that says “Today’s potatoes are from Warden, WA, Hatch Farms.”  That would be lovely if I was in the Washington state area.  Honestly I absolutely have no idea what the sign was doing here.  We are not close to Washington at all (west coast) so if the purpose of the sign was to let me know they imported their potatoes far far away from Ontario (east coast) then sure… 😕 Was this to support local food movement?  Why didn’t they buy from Ontario?  Was this part of their franchise contract? ❓  :?:  :?:  Nothing’s really wrong with the sign, after all many stores don’t purchase their food locally.  I just think it’s odd to put that sign in the store when we aren’t in the Washington region.

I wasn’t sorry to try Five Guy’s (hey Obama bought his burger from Five Guy’s :cool:  – not the one in Kingston – last year), but I’ll doubt if I’ll be going back for the burgers.

My ratings: ❤❤❤
Price range: $-$$

0311 Bacon Cheeseburger (Five Guys)Bacon cheeseburger
Toppings: (“all the way” sans mayo) lettuce, pickles, tomatoes, grilled onions, grilled mushrooms, ketchup and mustard.

0311 Fries (Five Guys)Fries (regular size)
They gave you so much! It’s one big cup plus another standard scoop.  You could see the skin on the potatoes.

Click here to see my other reviews on the local dining scene.
Click here to see other chain eats in Canada.

Five Guys Burgers & Fries on Urbanspoon

Five Guys Hamburgers
185 Princess St
Kingston, ON K7L 1A9
(613) 544-3333
http://fiveguys.ca/home.aspx

Leave a Reply

