Boston Eats: Flour Bakery + Cafe

If you watched food network, if you watched Bobby Flay, you might have heard about the Flour bakery.  There’s a lot of hype about this bakery/cafe.  The line was long but it moved quite fast.  Their sandwiches and bread were very good, but I wasn’t impressed with the sweet bites.  Maybe I should have tried their famed pastries instead.  I had a Bostom Cream pie and it was a piece of gross frozen cake.  Coffee was ordinary but wasn’t too bad.

My ratings: ❤❤❤
Price range: $

Roasted lamb, tomato chutney, goat cheese sandwich
Thin slices of rare roast lamb with a sweet tomato chutney and goat cheese.
The bread was good.  This was a well-executed sandwich.

Boston Cream Pie
It wasn’t bad on the first bite, but I hated it more and more as I was finishing the piece of cake.  The custard was more like frozen cream that’s beginning to melt.  As a result I had layers of icy about-to-melt custard/cream, and the cake part was oozing out liquid that I’m not sure if it’s from the melting cream or it was soaked in some kind of liquid previously (but that would be similar to a poorly assembed tres leche cake).

Click here to see my other reviews on the local dining scene.

Flour Bakery + Cafe on Urbanspoon

Flour Bakery + Cafe
Various locations.
flourbakery.com

Leave a Reply

