Kingston Eats: Wok-In Restaurant

This is a Cambodian/Thai restaurant with a few Vietnamese dishes on the menu.  The shop is very small with the kitchen taking up most of the space.  It’s quite clean and doesn’t have a greasy smell.  The chef-owner is very friendly.  Food is made to order so be prepared to wait some time.  Food is fresh and the portion is huge.

Based on all the rave reviews and recommendations I had high hopes for Wok-In.  Sadly I didn’t find it that spectacular.  The dishes had a nice balance of flavour, and most importantly you don’t feel thirsty after the meal. Food was quite tasty, but I’d say it was more like average home-cooked food.

My ratings: ❤❤❤
Price range: $

0611 Thai Styles Shrimp, Chicken, Vegetables, Chilli Paste, Holy Basil Leaves and Rice (Wok-In)Thai Styles Shrimp, Chicken, Vegetables, Chilli Paste, Holy Basil Leaves and Rice
Tail-on shrimp🙂 I wasn’t too fond of this dish.  I was disappointed that the rice was neither basmati nor jasmine rice.  I think it was way too saucy (and had a lot of cornstarch).  It wasn’t as spicy as I expected🙄

0711 Asian style chicken with red curry, basil, peanut, coconut and rice (Wok-In)Asian style chicken with red curry, basil, peanut, coconut and rice
This was an average coconut based curry (it was good, but not wow).  This really bugged me: there were no vegetables!!😕 The chicken pieces were huge.  I didn’t find it too spicy either.

Click here to see my other reviews on the local dining scene.

Wok-In Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Wok-In Restaurant
30 Montreal Street, Kingston, ON, Canada
613-549-5369 ‎

Leave a Reply

