Kingston Eats: Atomica Gourmet Pizza & Wine Bar

Atomica uses fresh local ingredients and very top quality seasonal products.  I am a fussy eater when it comes to any dough-related food.  I refuse to eat mass produced store-bought bread.  That said, pizza dough will be something I have high standards for. I am also picky with my pizza topping, too much cheese and oil is a big turn-off to me.  My mom always told me authentic Neapolitan style pizza is nothing like their American counterpart, so in my mind I always wanted to get a chance to try artisan pizza before I decide I don’t like pizza.

I really wasn’t a fan of pizza before I went to Atomica.  After my first visit to Atomica, I was converted.  The pizzas are sparsely topped with just a few, choice ingredients (as compared to American pizza where it’s loaded up with layer after layer of meats, vegetable and cheese).  The pizza is then baked quickly, at a high temperature, in a wood fired stove which delivers a crust that is crisp but chewy, thin but not crackery (I must say the bread is very important to a good pizza).  Atomica offers a wide array of gastronomic delight😆

I am still a huge fan of Atomica, even though there bread (sometimes too dry, crackery, and a bit burnt) isn’t up to par Woodenhead’s .  Atomica’s topping is mind blowing.  Ingredients changes seasonally.  Get the Funghi pizza, it’s a pizza you’ll dream about after you tried it.

P.S. While Atomica seems slightly more expensive than Woodenheads, their pizza is 12” in diameter, whereas Woodenhead’s pizza is 10” in diameter.

℘ Atomica is a member of “Local Food Local Chef”, a Kingston initiative to promote the area as a destination of culinary tourism

℘ Sister restaurants with Le Chien Noir & Harper’s.

My ratings: ❤❤❤❤
Price range: $$-$$$$

0111 Atomica0511 Atomica0111 Warm Olives (Atomica)Warm Olives

0212 Anatra (Atomica)Anatra
Five spice cream, duck confit, brie, scallions, pomegrante-balsamic glaze

0612 Fungi Pizza (Atomica)Funghi
Basil pesto cream, shiitake, king oyster & cremini mushrooms, garlic, parmesan, truffle oil
My top pick of all time.  It’s a beautiful marriage between mushrooms and flavour from heaven.  It’s hard to pick other options when this one pizza is good enough to win over the rest offered on the menu.

0411 Mela e Brie (Atomica)Mela e Brie
Apple butter, brie, roasted chicken, pancetta, arugula, red onion
I wasn’t too fond of this one.  The pancetta was quite dry😦

0511 Retro (Atomica)Retro
Basil pesto, mozzarella, roasted chicken, sundried tomato, roasted red peppers, herbed goat cheese

0611 Atomica Pizza

Atomica
La bomba spicy tomato sauce, mozzarella, mushrooms, calabrese salami, pepperoncini

0111 Milanese Vanilla Gelato (Atomica)Milanese Vanilla Gelato

Click here to see my other reviews on the local dining scene.

Atomica on Urbanspoon

Atomica Gourmet Pizza & Wine Bar

71 Brock Street
Kingston, ON K7L 2Z9
(613) 530-2118

www.atomica.ca/

Leave a Reply

