Kingston Eats: Olivea

Food was good, and we got a very good view next to the downtown market square.  The location and ambience was really spectacular.  However, I didn’t like this restaurant at all.  Something was just off. Maybe it had to do with the presentation of the food.  For an entrée, I was being served with a gigantic bowl that contained only a tiny amount of food.  Perhaps I sound stingy here, but I know quite well what I am paying for and what I should be getting in an upscale restaurant.  I wasn’t expecting a feast, but also I wasn’t expecting to be served with half a cup of food for an entrée.  Very overpriced for what you get.  There are many better options around the farmer’s market location.

℘ Olivea is a member of “Local Food Local Chef”, a Kingston initiative to promote the area as a destination of culinary tourism.

℘ Sister rstaurant with Bella Bistro.

My ratings:
Price range: $$-$$$$

1010 Gnocchi (Olivea)Gnocchi
House made potato gnocchi with veal cheek ragù and truffle oil 

1010 Sicilian Cannoli (Olivea)Sicilian Cannoli
It was very hard to bite in.  I needed to use utensils to cut it apart.  The filliing was nice: creamy and not too sweet.  It did have a sour note to it.  It wasn’t too bad but it also wasn’t the best cannoli.

Click here to see my other reviews on the local dining scene.

Olivea Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Olivea

39 Brock Street
Kingston, ON
(613) 547-5483

www.olivea.ca/

Leave a Reply

