Kingston Eats: The Tea Store

The first store is in Ottawa’s Byward market (we’ve been there before, it’s a very lovely store).  The other store is in Kingston, and has been here for many years already.  I think they have very nice and interesting blend of teas.  It’s nice to look around and check out the different specialty blends.  Price is also reasonably priced – more expensive than tea at Tara’s, but cheaper than the tea at David’s Tea.  I really like the tea at Tara’s Natural Food.  It’s good quality tea at a cheap price.  I don’t like David’s Tea because it’s seems to be a big marketing gimmick with a very marked up price (I am also no stranger to tea drinking, so I have a good idea of what the tea should be priced at relative to its quality).

Internet is provided here.  I wouldn’t recommend this as a place for working/reading because of the radio at the background.  I do think it’s a nice little place to meet with friends and have a nice long chat.  You can ask for refills for the pot of tea.  The baked goods are alright – not the best but also not the worst.  Owners and workers are also very friendly here.

My ratings: ❤❤❤❤
Price range: $-$$

0411 Tea Store 1 0411 Tea Store 2 0411 Tea Store 3 0411 Tea Store 4

0411 Nanaimo bar and apple pie (Tea Store)Apple Pie
I like that it’s very tangy.  The crust wasn’t too good.  It wasn’t soggy, it was very flaky.  I just don’t like the crust that much.
Nanaimo Bar
I was surprised to find Nanaimo bar here.  Unfortunately it wasn’t that good.  The ratio of the bar was off (too much icing, too little chocolate).  The icing was rather grainy and too fluffy (where’s the custard powder?).  The bottom was an interesting layer of coconut and nuts and had a slight hint of coffee flavour.

Click here to see my other reviews on the local dining scene.

The Tea Store

241 Princess St
Kingston, ON K7L 1B3
(613) 547-4747

www.teastore.ca/

Leave a Reply

